Baby Pancakes

Two posts in one day?! *gasp!* Yes, its a second post, but I was just so excited about these that I had to share.

Little L loves pancakes. On early mornings when I’m feeling well, I’ll fix his daddy some pancakes for breakfast, but because they’re covered in syrup, L doesn’t get more than 2 or 3 bites. Well, I recently discovered that you can make pancakes with baby cereal! This is great for us for 2 reasons. 1, because L hates baby cereal and this gives me a way to disguise it and not waste it, and 2, L gets to eat pancakes!

It’s a fairly simple recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1/2 cup baby cereal
1 cup formula, breast milk, or regular milk
2 eggs
1/2 cup of Apple juice

You can also add a dash cinnamon, vanilla, or nutmeg if you wish. I added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Once blended together, it looks like this.

image

It has the consistency of regular pancake batter. But smells much better hahaha. Once it was well blended, I heat up my cast iron skillet, and added about 1 tablespoon of butter to melt. Then I started making pancakes.
I added about a tablespoon of batter per pancake to the skillet. Sometimes a little more fell in but that’s ok. I wanted to make them small enough for L to handle

image

Once they were done, I let them cool, and placed them into a zip lock bag to freeze. I plan on keeping some in my diaper bag for snacks while we’re out and about running errands or visiting family

image

L loves them which is great, and it’s such a simple recipe which is great for me because I have enough time left over for other things.

Leave a Reply

