Tonight’s Dinner: Makeshift Shepherds Pie

I thought I’d take a small break between Spring Cleaning posts, and share with you all what I made for dinner tonight. I was having one of those days where nothing on our weekly menu looked good to me, so I decided to whip up a Shepherds Pie. Shepherd’s Pie, or Cottage Pie, is a meat pie with a crust of mashed potato. The dish is commonly made with beef or lamb, with added carrots, peas, onion and celery. Well, I only had a few of the ingredients, but I went with it anyway hahaha.

I started with browning 1 pound of ground beef in my cast iron skillet. Once it was nearly cooked, I added one small diced onion and let it cook together until the onion was translucent. Once that happened I added 1 and 1/2 cups of frozen green peas. While this was cooking, I mixed 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with 1 cup of beef broth to make a gravy. I added it plus 1 teaspoon of salt to the ground beef mixture and let it thicken. Then I removed the skillet from the heat and started on the mashed potato topping.
I used 1 and 1/2 cups of potato flakes, and 2 cups of milk. I added them to a pan and heated them on the stove, stirring frequently. Then I added 4 tablespoons of butter. If the mixture becomes to thick, you can add more milk. You want a whipped, creamy like texture. Once I finished the potatoes, I added them to the top of the ground beef mixture and spread it evenly over the top. Then I added 2 tablespoons of butter, cut up, to the top. Once that was finished, I placed it in the oven at 350° for 30 minutes or until it’s golden brown.
And that’s it! It’s a super yummy comfort dish and we like it best served with yeast rolls.

image

image

Ingredients:
1 pound of Ground beef, lamb, or turkey
1 and 1/2 cups of frozen green peas
1 small onion, Diced
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 cup beef broth
1 tsp salt
1 and 1/2 cups of potato flakes
2 cups of milk
6 tbsp of butter

Recipe:
Preheat oven to 350°
In a large skillet, brown 1 pound of ground beef. While it’s still a little pink, add your Diced onion and let cook until onion is translucent and beef is cooked through.
Add frozen peas and let cook. Next, mix your beef broth with the cornstarch. Add the salt and the beef broth mixture to the ground beef mixture. Stir, let thicken, then remove from heat.
Next, mix your potato flakes with your milk in a pot and heat over medium heat, add 4 tablespoons of butter and mix until you have a whipped and creamy texture. If mixture is too thick, add more milk. Once mashed potatoes are finished, spread them evenly over the top of the ground beef mixture. Place 2 cut up table spoons of butter on top of the mashed potatoes and stick skillet into the oven for 30 minutes or until golden brown. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

