Beginning of Change

I’ve been overweight most of my life. I’ve never been a very active person, and as a child and teenager, I would have rather had my nose in a book or my pencil to my art pad, than play basketball, or soccer. I also had bad eating habbits. I’ve struggled with my self-esteem for about 12 years now. When I became pregnant, they classified me as “Obese”, and told me to try not not gain any more than 10 pounds. I didn’t have diabetes or gestational diabetes, and I didn’t actually gain any weight, I lost over 30 lbs, because I was eating healthy foods and drinking nothing but water. After I gave birth to L (who was a whopping 9 lbs 6 oz), my stomach was stretched out, with stretch marks as wide as a half inch. My skin sagged, but I felt great!
Now here, after 8 months, I’ve gained a little bit of the weight back, but not much.
When I first got pregnant, I weighed 282 lbs. At the end of my pregnancy, I weighed 248 lbs. As of right now, I weigh 257 lbs. My goal is to weigh 235 lbs by the time my son turns 1 year old. Now, that only gives me 4 months, but I think I can do it. For the next 4 months, once a month, I will be posting my before and after pictures, my activity, tools I use, and my diet for that month. So, for today, I want to share some pictures I took of myself this morning and my lunch. If you dont want to see the photos, then please end youre reading here. I can’t believe I’m actually putting these out there, and I’m very nervous doing it, but I figure this is the first step. I took these after I got out of bed and dressed, so you’ll forgive the “I need coffee” face, hahaha.

image
Spinach wrap with ham, spinach, and cheese and a cup of Greek yogurt

image

image

image

image

This is my 25 year old, Mommy body. This may sound crazy to some, but I’m actually pretty proud of these pictures. Mainly because I know what my body can do. And then because I know what I looked like before. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures from then of my body. But I’m hoping that by this time next month, I’ll have made a little bit of progress and lost an inch or 2.

I hope you go along with me on my journey, and we’ll see where it ends!

Leave a Reply

