Tonight’s Dinner: Salmon, Rice, and Roasted Asparagus

So tonight’s Dinner was super delicious. We had pan seared salmon, with rice and roasted asparagus. I used to make it all the time but I stopped because Salmon had become too costly here. But yesterday, while grocery shopping, I saw that they had some wild caught Alaskan Salmon on sale, so I bought a pound.
I removed the skin, cut it in fourths, and then sprinkled a little salt and pepper over them.
I then heated up my cast iron skillet with a drizzle of olive oil, then I added my Salmon and seared it on both sides until golden brown and cooked through. Once it was cooked, I took half of a lemon and squeezed the juice over the salmon.

image

While it was cooking, I began cooking my rice by adding 1 and 1/2 cups of rice and 3 cups of water to a sauce pan on medium high heat.

image

Then I got to work on my asparagus. I cut about 2 inches off the bottom of the stems, then I laid them out on my roasting pan, drizzled some olive oil, and sprinkled salt and pepper over them. Then I placed them into the oven at 375° for 30 minutes.

image

When they were done, they looked like this.

image

They were so tender and flavorfull. I love me some roasted asparagus.

After everything was cooked, I plated our meals and we ate! It was L’s first time having salmon and asparagus and he loved them!

Recipe

Salmon fillets
1 and 1/2 cups of Rice
Asparagus
Salt and Pepper to taste
2 tablespoons of butter
1 half of a lemon
Olive oil

Add a drizzle of olive oil to your skillet and heat to over medium heat.
Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste over your Salmon fillets and place them in the skillet. Sear until golden brown on both sides and cooked through.
While Salmon is cooking, add 1 and 1/2 cups of rice to a sauce pan with 3 cups of water and cook over medium high heat until done.
While rice is cooking, cut off 2 inches off the stems of the Asparagus. Lay them on your roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Then place the roasting pan in the oven at 375° for 30 minutes or until the asparagus is a little shriveled looking and the tops are crisp.

Once that’s done, squeeze lemon juice over your salmon, place the rice on your plate, salmon on top of the rice and Asparagus on the side, and enjoy!

image

Leave a Reply

