Tonight’s Dinner, Deconstructed Tacos

Tonight’s Dinner was super easy and delicious and, for the most part, healthy! I made Deconstructed Tacos. Now, I for one adore tacos and I’m usually not a fan of anything but the real deal, but these were awesome.

I started my browning a pound of ground chuck (you can use ground turkey, but my husband won’t touch the stuff) and adding a packet of low sodium taco seasoning. Once that was thoroughly combined, I added a drained can of whole kernel yellow corn, and a drained can of black beans.

image

I mixed it up and added 1/2 a cup of salsa to the mix. While this simmered, I cooked a pot of brown rice, about 2 cups, and added it into the ground chuck mixture

image

I let it sit for a few minutes while I grabbed myself a bowl, and lined it with large leaf Lettuce.

image

Then, I added the ground chuck mixture to my bowl, topped it with plain greek yogurt and a little mexican blend cheese. You can use sour cream if you wish.

image

And thats it! You can add onion or tomatoes if you wish, but not everyone in out house is a fan of them so they weren’t added here. But it was SO delicious! The baby even loved it. This will be something that is added to my go to recipes.

Ingredients
1 pound ground chuck or turkey
1 packet low sodium taco seasoning
1 can whole kernel corn (drained)
1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
2 cups of cooked brown rice
1/2 cup of salsa (I used chunky salsa)
Large leaf Lettuce
Plain greek yogurt or sour cream
Mexican blend Shredded cheese

Recipe
Brown your ground meet and add a packet of low sodium taco seasoning
Add drained corn and black beans and mix. Then add 1/2 cup of salsa. Let simmer for a few minutes and then add your cooked brown rice and mix together.
Line bowl with large leaf Lettuce, and place mixture in bowl. Top with sour cream or plain greek yogurt and Shredded cheese. Feel free to add Tomatoes or onions. 

Leave a Reply

