Semi healthy breakfast muffins and living with a picky eater

So my son has recently decided that anything in the vegetable category just isn’t for him. I’ve cooked and seasoned them in every way I know how and he’s always been able to pick them out or avoid his food all together. It’s become pretty frustrating and worrisome, since veggies are a great source of nutrients, I worried that he was malnourished. I mean, mac and cheese (which, that and nuggets are all he would eat) is great, but I’m not sure you can live off of it for long. This child wouldnt even eat protein unless it was in the form of a fried chicken nugget. And out of desperation thats what I gave him. Do I feel bad? Not really, we do what we can to get our kids to eat. And at least he wasn’t hungry. I was just worried he wasn’t getting enough vitamins or minerals in his diet. But here recently I found a recipe on pinterest that gave me an idea. Breakfast muffins with hidden veggies! 

After going over the recipe, I tweaked it to how I wanted it and made a dozen of some of the best darn muffins I’ve had in a while
These muffins have zucchini, carrots, apples, greek yogurt, and apple sauce in them, and when I was reading it, I was afraid that he might be able to detect the texture of the veggies, so I used a super fine grater and grated the veggies to a soft mush. I wouldn’t say puree since it still had a little texture, just not enough to detect in a muffin. 

Don’t they look great? I was super glad that L decided he wanted not one, but TWO muffins. And here’s what was left! 

Yeah, pretty awesome. 

So here’s the recipe
2 cups of flour 

1/2 cup of sugar ( I used organic cane sugar)

2 large eggs

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 tbsp unsalted softened butter

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1/8 cup apple juice 

1 finely grated medium zucchini

1 finely grated medium carrot

1 finely grated apple (I used Honecrisp for added sweetness)

1/2 medium banana, mashed

1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce 

1/4 cup of semi sweet mini dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350° and line a cupcake/muffin tin with liners.
Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, and add two large spoonfuls of batter to the liners. 

Bake the muffins for 20 minutes or until golden and firm.

They’re really delicious, and I’m planning on freezing them to save for later. And I’m just over the moon excited that I got L to consume some vegetables! Yes they’re cooked, and there’s also sugar, but still, they’re VEGETABLES! YAY!

Leave a Reply

